Catch a wild moment.


The St. Augustine Alligator Farm Zoological Park's Wild Bird Rookery presents a unique opportunity for photographers to capture intimate images of nesting Florida wading birds. Roseate spoonbills, wood storks, great egrets, snowy egrets, and several heron species swoop in each year to raise their young in the trees within our 2 acre Native Swamp and Rookery exhibit. The wooden walkway through this natural wetlands exhibit provides up-close viewing of the undisturbed birds. Adult birds displaying brilliant breeding plumage and downy chicks popping curious heads just above the walls of their nest grant amateur and professional photographers with world-class photo sessions.

Our Annual Photo Contest awards the top images taken in the rookery and of our exotic animals found throughout the zoo. Don't miss the chance to have your work judged by a professional nature photographer, Maxis Gamez, and to snap the photo of a lifetime at the St. Augustine Alligator Farm!


- 2015 Rules & Regulations
- 2015 Entry Form


Please send all Photo Contest Entry Submissions to:

St. Augustine Alligator Farm

c/o Molly Ebersold

999 Anastasia Blvd.

St. Augustine, FL 32080


Click here for our Wading Rookery page >


2014 Photo Contest Winners

Bill Varney
Bill Varney
David Hawkins
Horace Sawyer
Karen Willes
Mark Hodgson
Mary Angela Luzader
Phillip Hardy.Best In Show
Tara Tanaka
William Miller

2013 Photo Contest Winners

Best in Show - Robert VanMierop
Honorable Mention - Earnst Schwarz
Amanda Carta
Clark Wheeler
Clark Wheeler
David Turko
David Turko
Lorraine Thomas
Robert VanMierop
Satish Nair
William Pearce

2012 Photo Contest Winners

Best In Show- Robert Van Mierop
Alana Hodgson
Jill Carney
Steven Grogger
Ardith Bondi
Charles Twine
Douglas Heimstead
George Cathcart
Jim Rettker
Lorraine Thomas
Lou Kellenberger

2011 Photo Contest Winners

Best In Show- Sue Jarrett
Charles Twine
Mary Angela Luzander
Jess Yarnell
Yuk Ling Tong
Charles Twine
Janet Fikar
Daniel Cedras
William Miller
Don Specht

2010 Photo Contest Winners

Best In Show- William Miller
Mary Angela Luzader
Jill Kossin
Chris Willis
Daniel Cedras
Daniel Cedras
David Boyd
Amy Marques
James Urbach
Susan Allshouse

2009 Photo Contest Winners

Best In Show- Julie Bender
Adams Serra
Betsy Kellenberger
Linda Holloway
Lola Lawrence
Michael Cenci
Michael Maxwell
Olis Garber
Olis Garber
Paula Griffin

< return to Events